My rules for a good translation blog

This was going to be a post about a certain translation blog I stumbled upon. So that I would have something worthwhile to say (seriously, what kind of post would it be if all it said was “Cool!” ? Even worse, spelled “Kewl!” and/or with a few extra exclamation points?),  I tried doing an Internet search on this blog.  It turned out to be from a translation company. Not an individual freelancer, mind you. A full-fledged company.

And in retrospect, the blog didn’t meet two of my no-so-strict standards.

  1. Post every once in a while: I can’t criticize anybody for not posting everyday – I don’t. If I did, my own posts would go something like this:January 2: I am a translator with a day job. Those two keep me busy. On occasion, I do housework and motherly/wifely things.

    January 3: The same thing as January 2.

    January 4
    : Pretty much the same as January 3.

    If I manage to put in a couple of posts per month, I think I am doing well. But seriously, more than two months between posting? It’s an afterthought blog. Not worth my time.

  2. Be interesting to at least somebody. Interesting is a very subjective term. Are you all that interested in the posts tagged “Conversations” that I write? Perhaps not. They are written to represent a slice of my life as a translator, as in, what happens when I encounter other people who are not translators. Then again, they might give you a little chuckle and make you nod your head and say, “Been there!” Likewise, I don’t necessarily find the blogs about SDL TRADOS tips to be all that fascinating, but you know what? Somebody is going nuts trying to make their expensive software work and will be delighted.

That’s pretty much all I ask of a blog. Put some thought into it, and be of interest to somebody.

Tags: ,

11 Responses to “My rules for a good translation blog”

  1. Marie-Aude Says:

    Well in that respect, your blog IS interesting 🙂

  2. Stefania Says:

    I agree, your blog is interesting. I also completely relate to the “motherly/ wifely things”.

  3. linguaefranca Says:

    Hello, I’ve found your blog while meandering through wordpress links, and thought I would say hello. Like you, I am also a freelance translator (Russian English pairs), and its always nice to meet colleagues in the cyber land. I found your blog interesting, and I hope we could be acquaintances. 🙂

    P.S. My blog is pretty empty at the moment, I’ve only started using WordPress this week. But there will be more!

  4. zombiefacebook.org Says:

    whoah this weblog is excellent i like reading your articles.
    Keep up the good paintings! You

    recognize, lots of individuals are hunting

    around for this information, you could help them greatly.

  5. ges villajoyosa Says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll

    make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.

    Thanks for the

    post. I will certainly comeback.

  6. Kari Says:

    As a Newbie, I am constantly browsing online for articles that can

    aid me. Thank you

  7. texample.net Says:

    Great goods from you, man. I have have in mind your stuff

    previous to and you are just too magnificent. I actually like what you have got right here,

    really like what you are saying and the way through which you assert it.
    You are making

    it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to keep it sensible.
    I can’t wait to read far more from you. That is actually a

    great website.

  8. Luann Says:

    I’ve been surfing on-line greater than 3 hours nowadays, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty value enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made

    good content as you probably did, the net will likely be much more helpful than ever before.

  9. indian xnxx video Says:

    Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return
    once again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  10. Walter Says:

    Hi there, I found your website by way of Google whilst looking for a comparable matter, your website came up, it seems great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply was alert to your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll
    appreciate for those who continue this in future.
    Numerous other people can be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  11. Johne774 Says:

    I really like and appreciate your blog post.Thanks Again. ccebdadacagd

Leave a Reply

